Weather Forecast


Award-winning authors read tonight

The 27th annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Award winners will present readings from their works 4-6 p.m. on Wednesday, July 15, in the Kathryn A. Martin Library's first floor reading room at the University of Minnesota Duluth.

The winning authors and books are:

Sheila Packa, Night Train Red Dust, honorable mention in poetry.

Shawn Otto, Sins of Our Fathers, winner in fiction.

Michael Fedo, Zenith City: Stories from Duluth, honorable mention in memoir/creative nonfiction.

John and Meridith Schifsky, Saved by Beauty: Sister Mary Charles McGough, OSB, winner in art/photography.

Diane Bradley, Wilder's Foe, honorable mention in children's literature.

Jim Boyd, Sawdust in Their Blood, honorable mention in general nonfiction.

Expect a comfortable gathering with short readings and time for questions and answers. The authors will have copies of their books for purchase.

This event is free and open to the public. Refreshments will be served. Call (218) 726-7889 for more information.